When Hobby Becomes Income…

I’ve been at this refurbishing game for about a couple of years now, and in a very honest admission I must say that I LOVE IT.

When you love something you typically try your absolute best, and I suppose that effort has literally paid off for me.

Mr. RQ has been kind at indulging my furniture fetish, but he did draw a line in the sand and advised that we shouldn’t keep my creations beyond the ones needed for practical design (why does he have to be so sensible about everything?)

I’ve had to “find homes” for my items, which is code for selling them.

My occasional kijiji sale here and there was fun and fruitful, but I came upon a local makers market sale called the Mercer Collective that was all but audibly calling out to me.

On a whim I applied for a spot in the craft show, and to my surprise I was accepted!

That meant I had roughly two months to prepare a quality inventory large enough to stock a 10×5 booth. Sounds easy, but it’s not.

I spent the first week scouring thrift stores and garage sales with my mom to find great treasures.

Here are some of the items we found….

Art Show Collage Before

Various shades of poop brown just wasn’t going to cut it.

I recently made a conversion to chalk paint (I’ll write another blog about that when time permits,) and it’s the best decision I’ve ever made when it comes to refurbishing.

It requires no pre-sanding, virtually no prep at all, only takes a couple of coats and dries in less than 20 minutes.

I was pretty nervous about being in the show. It was completely outside of anything I’ve ever done before.

Aside from a flu-induced meltdown the night before, everything came together and the show was a complete success! < P.S. That’s not me in the mirror reflection πŸ™‚ >

Art Show Wide Pic Monkey

I got heaps of compliments about my work (a woman snapped up those lamps you see and compared them to Kate Spade!!,) and I sold quite a few items.

Chevron and Garden Table Pic Monkey

The show’s organizers even invited me to a specialty show they’re hosting in February. I’ve been asked to host a hands-on class on refurbishing, and I’ve also been invited to furnish the cafe they’re setting up at the show. All of the items in the cafe will be for sale. Talk about a successful outing!

Dresser and Mirror Pic Monkey

< That IS me this time in the mirror reflection! >

At the risk of sounding like I’m tooting my own horn, I have to say I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished with this. I followed my heart and a passion and it turned into something I never could have imagined. When God reveals a talent in you, you must acknowledge it and use it to the best of your abilities. It’s been given to you for a reason πŸ˜‰

~ RQ

One response to “When Hobby Becomes Income…

What do you think?

